When You don’t move the mountains…

Music artist Lauren Daigle has a song on the CCM charts right now called “Trust in You”, and every time I hear the chorus I’m reminded yet again how powerful the commitment to trust in Jesus really is.

The chorus to this song says the following:

When you don’t move the mountains, I’m needing you to move

When you don’t part the waters, I wish I could walk through

When you don’t give the answers, as I cry out to you

I will trust, I will trust, I will trust in you

 

Sometimes that chorus becomes my daily prayer, sometimes multiple times a day: God, when you don’t move these mountains that I’m asking you, pleading for you to move, when you don’t part the waters that are raging in front of me, and when there is just no answer at all…please, please, please help me to still trust that you are good, and that you are God.

Last week was super quiet – not a single referral was received by our agency, and this week one of our family coordinators is on the ground in Haiti, with IBESR every day, pushing our files and pushing for signatures on these referrals. There is still lots going on, and (weirdly odd praise, in a way) USCIS and IBESR agreed to extend the processing for i600 families for at least three months, and is letting previous i600 families that are waiting for a referral to still process under that paperwork, which is fantastic because it should theoretically be a quicker (relative term) process than fully switching to i800. Unfortunately we already sent our i800 paperwork and application, and hefty fee in. Which, most likely, will not be returned to us. At this point, we can still proceed as i600 which is great news! Also, IBESR has made a commitment to processing the remaining i600 families waiting for referrals within the next 3 months. They have given themselves a caveat for extending past that, but their goal is to have all those families (including ours) matched within the next three months. We would still like ours this week, but obviously they have other things on their mind! LOL

Keep us in your prayers – we are still checking emails 37,000 times a day and phone calls and voicemails…We’ll keep you all posted 🙂

 

Blessings,

Laura

2 thoughts on “When You don’t move the mountains…

  1. alicat06 says:

    Hi Laura! Was this information from your agency today? I spoke with ours on Monday or Tuesday (whatever day the ibesr meeting was) and they were still trying to determine if ibesr was going to go ahead and match the i600 cases. We also have filed our i800a, but I wonder…even those of us without a soft match….? I don’t want to get too excited. I’ll believe it when I see it!

Leave a Reply

